Kinect is Pretty Cool

A quick note of my weekend review of Kinect, Microsoft’s new 3-D motion sensing camera for the Xbox 360.

It’s pretty cool.  The games are mostly geared towards family entertainment and I can see this being a big winner for kids 12 and younger.  This thing has “slumber party” written all over it.  Table tennis, bowling, and beach volleyball are a blast to play. It’s really fun and depending on your preferences, you will get addicted to playing some of the sports games.

I purchased “The Biggest Loser Ultimate Workout” game in the hope it’d supplement my workout routines since I no longer see a trainer.  I’m impressed.  The motion sensing camera allows the game to “see” if you’re following proper form and technique.  It can also tell if you’re putting forth the effort needed and can adjust your programs as you work out.  It won’t replace the kettle bell program I like so much, but the workout routines are really good.  I’m sore, but in the right way.  It also takes a body scan and creates a personalized program to help you meet your fitness goals.  I ordered “Your Fitness Evolved” based on what I’ve seen from this game.

Yes, there are annoyances and nuances, but I’d buy it again.  It worked with 3 feet of space, but is much better at 6-8 feet and is really easy to set up.  It’ll improve as Microsoft works to improve the game selection and lag time.  This will sell out for Christmas, so I’d get it now.  Head over to Amazon for their game specials and keep an eye for “buy one get one free” specials at Target, WalMart, et al.

Drop me a line if you want more info.

DS

About Doug Sigmon

IT Helpdesk manager in southern California. Love technology, gadgets, and golf.
This entry was posted in Fun, Kinect, Microsoft and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

